Review: Work. Home. Bed – Hummer

hummerHummer are a Punk/Alternative band from the North West UK, and does what it says on the tin.

Will and Joe originally formed as stereotypical noisy high school punk band “S.F.R” in 2004, with college classmate Cainy coming on board in 2008 at which time they also changed their name; after going through 3 drummers in 7 years, Cainy moved from guitar to drums in 2011, with the lineup remaining the same ever since.

Following an extended spell of general inactivity brought about by a combination of education, work, other bands, writer’s block and general bone-idleness they came back at full-throttle in late 2015, now armed with a raft of new songs plus the occasional oldie.
I have to say, after listening to their latest release “Work. Home. Bed (released on Horn &Hoof Records in July 2016) , I have officially been blown away! From track one, these guys grabbed my attention and sucked me in for the rest of the album. I love the high octane energy that has been thrown into each track, they haven’t dropped in their commitment once!
I could definitely tell that these guys had worked really hard on this release and I have to say that Hummer are possibly one of the best bands I’ve ever had the pleasure of reviewing on this site!
The one thing I instantly fell in love with was the brilliant use of harmonies and how tight the band were, I could definitely tell that these guys have been working together for a long time. I will 100% be adding these guys to my playlist! Check them out and you’ll fully be able to understand how good Hummer are!
Work.Home.Noise is available on Spotify here: https://open.spotify.com/album/0yP83J9mCOVWj0FivvcOf0
Hummer on social media
Leave a Reply

